Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

What is  Lean Six Sigma and What it can do for you

  Six Sigma 
is a business and management strategy for developing and delivering near perfect products or services to the customer, through the use of the DMAIC OR DMADV project methodology. Using these princepals drives down costs and increases profit.

We at WSCS are Black Belts and Masters in Six Sigma. WSCS will move you through this Breakthrough Strategy by using the following eight elements:

  • Assess the current state of your business.
  • D Define what plans must be in place to realize improvment of each state.
  • M Measure the business systems that support the plans.
  • A Analyze the gaps in system performance benchmarks.
  • I Improve system elements to achieve performance goals.
  • C Control system-level characteristics that are critical to value.
  • S Standardize the systems that prove to be best-in-calss.
  • I Incorporate proven systems into the strategic planning framework.


The DMAIC project methodology has five phases:

  • Define the problem, the voice of the customer, and the project goals, specifically.
  • Measure key aspects of the current process and collect relevant data.
  • Analyze the data to investigate and verify cause-and-effect relationships. Determine what the relationships are, and attempt to ensure that all factors have been considered. Seek out root cause of the defect under investigation.
  • Improve or optimize the current process based upon data analysis using techniques such as design of experiments, poka yoke or mistake proofing, and standard work to create a new, future state process. Set up pilot runs to establish process capability.
  • Control the future state process to ensure that any deviations from target are corrected before they result in defects. Implement control systems such as statistical process control, production boards, and visual workplaces, and continuously monitor the process. 

The DMADV project methodology has five phases:

  • Define design goals that are consistent with customer demands and the enterprise strategy.
  • Measure and identify CTQs (characteristics that are Critical To Quality), product capabilities, production process capability, and risks.
  • Analyze to develop and design alternatives, create a high-level design and evaluate design capability to select the best design.
  • Design details, optimize the design, and plan for design verification. This phase may require simulations.
  •  Verify the design, set up pilot runs, implement the production process and hand it over to the process owner(s).

    DMAIC is used for projects aimed at improving an existing business process. Where


Powered by